Saturday, September 30, 2023

Arctic Roses | VANS Snowboarding

by Miles
0 comment

Vans Snowboarding is out with another amazing project, Arctic Roses, a short film by Alex Tank and Willem Jones, featuring team riders Alek Oestreng, Arthur Longo, Bryan Iguchi, Enni Rukajärvi, Rene Rinnekangas, Severin van der Meer and Wolle Nyvelt.

“There are not too many places on this planet that could provide good snowboard terrain and surf, but the Norwegian coastline is one of them”

There are not too many places on this planet that could provide good snowboard terrain and surf, but the Norwegian coastline is one of them. The Arctic truly sounded like the last frontier, so the team made two epic trips for an expedition on and off the land, merging the worlds of snowboarding and surfing.

Arthur Longo, Norway. Photo: Matt Georges.

While searching for ‘Arctic Roses’, a metaphor for the quest the crew went on for good snow and good waves, the idea was to reinforce the connection we have with the elements – either on the mountains or in the ocean – with a combination of splitboarding and cold water surfing.

The landscapes that the mighty Norwegian coastline provided were of epic proportions. It’s a place where the mountains literally drop into the sea so it was the perfect location to showcase how intertwined snowboarding and surfing are and the versatility of the Vans team riders. The team started off their adventure in the Lofoten islands, moved on to the Lyngen Alpes and ended the trip in Riksgrensen during their annual bank slalom – getting to ride the quarterpipe under the midnight sun to wrap up the full Arctic experience was the icing on the cake.

Enni Rukajarvi, Norway. Photo: Matt Georges.

Starring: Arthur Longo, Bryan Iguchi, Enni Rukajarvi, Severin Van Der Meer, Alek Oestreng, Wolle Nyvelt, Rene Rinnekangas and more

Directed by: Alex Tank

Filmed by: Willem Jones

Photography: Matt Georges

Music Credits: Stossgebet by Karl Hector & Malcouns Can’t Surf by Beach Party Creations Beginning by Rocket Robert Starfish by Matteus Unebeck (Voyage Beneath The Sea) Interstellar Shortwave by The Astral Army (Cologne Curiosities) Winterland by Shiho Yabucki (The Body Is A Message Of The Universe)

Sevi van der Meer. Photo: Matt Georges.

This post was originally published on this site

You may also like

VarialTV is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Edtior's Picks

Latest Articles

VarialTV  All Right Reserved.  Copyright 2023.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.